The Tennessee Board of Dentistry reminds all licensees that any licensed and registered dental hygienist , registered dental assistant and/or practical dental assistant operating under a dentist’s supervision must apply for and complete a Board- approved certification course and obtain their certification, issued by the
A dental assistant in Tennessee CAN do the following under direct supervision of the supervising dentist : – A dental assistant in Tennessee can provide support to a dentist under the supervision of a properly licensed dentist . – There are x-ray licensing requirements in Tennessee for dental assistants .
All registered dental assistants are all required to fulfill 24 hours of continuing education during the two calendar year cycle (January 1 of an odd year – December 31 of an even year) and keep a current C.P.R. card at all times.
Dentists: 60 CE hours (20 hours can be taken online or through correspondence) – Due every 3 years. Dental Hygienists: 36 CE hours ( 12 hours can be taken online or through correspondence) – Due every 3 years.
A dental hygienist may provide preventive dental hygiene services directly to a patient without a prior examination, presence, or authorization of a dentist . A dental hygienist may practice in any setting or facility that is documented in the dental hygienist’s access practice agreement.
What treatment or services can a dental hygienist provide directly to patients? Dental hygienists can carry out their full scope of practice (except toothwhitening) without needing a prescription from a dentist .
“G” = the assistant can perform the duty under the General supervision ofa dentist , which means based on instructions given by a licensed dentist , but not requiring the physical presence of the supervising dentist during the performance ofthose procedures.
The use of an slow- speed or high – speed handpieces by RDAs is not specifically prohibited by law or regulation, except that (1) those certified to perform coronal polishing are limited to using “an appropriation rotary instrument with rubber cap or brush and a polishing agent” (Regulation Section 1067(h); and (2) the
The ability to inject Botox is not really the issue. Each state has very specific laws governing the scope of practice anyone with a license is permitted to perform . In my state dental assistants would not legally be allowed to perform Botox injections.
Tennessee Average While ZipRecruiter is seeing salaries as high as $53,114 and as low as $22,092, the majority of RDA salaries currently range between $32,902 (25th percentile) to $44,183 (75th percentile) with top earners (90th percentile) making $50,294 annually in Tennessee .
DANB requires a minimum of six CDE credits annually to renew NELDA certification . CDE must be directly related to the clinical practice of dentistry or dental assisting . Two of these credits must be in infection control and one must be on OSHA’s Bloodborne Pathogens.
The ACLS, PALS, and NRP certification courses are approved for 8 CEUs/CMEs, and recertification courses are approved for 4 CEUs /CMEs. The BLS certification course is approved for 4 CEUs /CMEs and the recertification course is approved for 2 CEUs /CMEs. For more information, please visit our Accreditation page.
Subscribe Now ADA CE Online Subscriptions. See state continuing education requirements for dentists. Learn More State CE Requirements. Select a state on the map. Learn more about CERP Learn More Continuing Education Recognition Program (CERP)
No more than 50% of the total required units may be taken as non- live or correspondence courses. Interactive courses such as live video conferencing, live webinar , live lecture and live workshop demonstrations may be considered as a live course .
DO THE LIVE WEBINAR CE HOURS COUNT AS IN-PERSON CE ? Live webinar attendance is accepted by most states and for most professions as in-person CE . The accreditation bodies require that you are able to participate as if you were present.